Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
  • entries
  • comments
  • views

Video - The glories of Tulasi Mata parikrama // Shri Pran Krishna Das Babaji Maharaj 16.01.2019 [00:05:05]

Sign in to follow this  


Guruji explains how the benefits of doing Parikrama (circumambulation) around Tulasi Mata increases with each parikrama.

(1) Benefits of doing a single Tulasi Parikrama:
'Eko nishtha' means single-minded faith and devotion. By doing Tulasi Parikrama our mind develops 'Eko nishtha' towards Krishna. Why not 'Eko nishtha' towards Tulasi? Because Tulasi wants all our minds to be devoted to Krishna, not to Her.

(2) Benefits of doing two Parikramas around Tulasi Mata:
We receive the benediction of serving Lord Krishna with both our hands. Our two hands will thus not do any other work.

(3) Benefits of doing three Parikramas:
Adi Daivik, Adi Bhautik, and Adhyatmik - these three kinds of sufferings will disappear.

(4) Benefits of four Parikramas:
The chatur varg (four principles of material life)- namely Dharma, Arth, Kama, and Moksha will go far away.

(5) Benefits of five Parikramas:
Our five Indriyas (senses) will get engaged in Thakur seva (in the service of the Lord). These five senses (corresponding to the five sense organs that allow us to perceive the world around us) are eyes, ears, nose, tongue, and touch (skin).

(6) Benefits of six Parikramas:
'Ripoo badaa balwaan'. Our enemies (ripoo) are very powerful (balwaan). We have six enemies- kama (lust), krodh (rage or anger), lobh (greed), moh (attachment), mad (false ego or illusion), matsarya (envy or jealousy). These are extremely powerful. Nahi Maane Dharma Gyaan (these enemies don't allow us to follow religious principles). But when we do Tulasi parikrama, all these enemies will disappear.

(7) Benefits of doing seven Parikramas around Tulsi Mata:
Generally, in material life we are desirous of seven kinds of svarga (heaven or heavenly happiness). By doing seven parikramas, these desires will disappear.

(8) Benefits of eight Parikramas:
'Ashta Siddhi' or the desire for attaining eight kinds of perfection will disappear. (Sanatan Das' comment: Shastra describes these eight yogic perfections as- (i) अणिमा (Aṇima): reducing one's body's size to that of an atom
(ii) महिमा (Mahima): power to expand one's body indefinitely to become very large
(iii) गरिमा (Garima): to become very heavy
(iv) लघिमा (Laghima): make oneself almost weightless
(v) प्र्राप्ति (Praapti): achieving unrestricted access to all places
(vi) प्राकाम्या (Praakaamya): the ability to get whatever one wants or desires
(vii) ईशत्व (Ishtva): attaining divine quality of god (godhood)
(viii) वस्तव (Vastva): the power to bring everyone under one's control.

(9) Benefits of doing nine Parikramas:
'Nava Nidhi' or the desire to get the nine kinds of treasures or wealth will disappear. {Comment: Amarkosha explains that these nine treasures belong to Kuvera, the god of wealth. These are- (i) mahapadma (great lotus flower) (ii) padma (lotus flower) (iii) shankha (conch) (iv) makara (crocodile) (v) kachchhapa (tortoise) (vi) kumud (a particular precious stone) (vii) kunda (jasmine) (viii) nila (sapphire) (ix) kharva (dwarf)}

(10) Benefits of ten Parikramas:
We get the blessing of using all our 10 senses in the service of the Lord. {Comment: Guruji has already explained that our five sense organs are eyes, ears, nose, tongue, and skin (in point 5 above). These five senses are also called as Gyan (knowledge aquiring) indriyas (senses).
The remaining 5 are called karmendriyas or organs of action. These are: Pada (legs or feet), Pani (hands), Payu (rectum), Upastha (genitals), Vak (mouth)}

(11) Benefits of doing eleven Parikramas around Tulsi Mata:
Here, Guruji says that mind is the 11th sense. That is, above ten senses (from point 10 above) PLUS our mind - these eleven senses get dedicated to the service of the Lord.

(12) Benefits of twelve Parikramas:
Guruji laughs. He says, twelve means 'baro' (in Bengali or Hindi). Say 'baro baro baro baro bar bar' i.e. bar bar (again and again). Do it again and again. (Comment: that is, every time you do Tulasi parikrama, try to circumambulate Her as many times as you can)

After this, Guruji points to Shri Nitai Das' forehead and asks him where is his tilak. Nitai Das ji explains that it got obliterated on the way. Guruji says that this won't do. Somebody in the gathering offers to bring fresh Tilak for Nitai Das ji. A disciple looks closely at Nitai Das ji's forehead and tells Guruji that the Tilak is faintly visible. Guruji also takes a closer look and shakes his head, 'do we stand in front of a person and look so closely to detect his Tilak? Ujjwala tilakam (Tilak has to be bright)'

Another disciple points to a member of the householder family whose Tilak had also vanished. Guruji says, 'that's ok. He is sitting in the house. Even if his Tilak vanishes nobody will notice or miss it. But a devotee who travels on the road should have his Tilak nicely visible so that passers-by can see it and be benefited.'

After this, Guruji turns to a householder in the gathering and says, 'do you know the meaning of the Tulasi Parikrama Mahima (glories and importance) that we discussed? These practices became prominent in Mahaprabhu's time. The idea is, by doing even a little bhajan one can get enormous amount of results in this Yuga. Just one Parikrama bestows upon us so much benefit. Similarly, offering just one dandavat pranaam to Lord Krishna bestows upon us lots of spiritual merits. Eko api Krishanasya krita pranaam. Just by offering one dandavat pranaam to Krishna surpasses the benefits obtained by doing even ten ashwamedh yagyas (horse sacrifices). In the previous yugas, people had the means (wealth and facilities) to perform such big sacrifices. But now, in kali yuga, every endeavour is full of faults. Therefore, the process (Tulsi Parikrama or simply dandavat pranam to Krishna) is so much easier in Kali yuga. Even then people don't offer dandavat pranam to Krishna. So, everyone should make it a point to offer dandavat pranam to Krishna regularly. What is the best time for doing this? You can offer dandavat pranam while bathing. One has to remove clothes while taking a bath. So at this time, offer three dandavat pranams- to Guru, Gaur, and Govinda. You can even offer dandavat pranam during taking your madhyana bath (in the afternoon time). Why undergo unnecessary hardship? Do your bhajan in comfort and peace.

Translation by Sanatan Das (NCR)

Sign in to follow this  


Shri KrishnaInternational Vaishnavas Portal: download Vaishnava scriptures for free, Vaishnava news, blogs, gallery, videos, bhajans, lectures, practice, instructions, holy places map, Krishna stories. Non-religious platform for glorifying the ideals of Krishna-bhakti (love to Krishna).

Chant daily with love to Shri Krishna:
Hare Krishna, Hare Krishna, Krishna Krishna, Hare Hare,
Hare Rama, Hare Rama, Rama Rama, Hare Hare!